This alpine white Dell Mini 10 was a present from Intel.

I’m using my awesome Asus Eee PC 1000HA as a benchmark. Yes, I’ve cut out an Apple-shaped logo out of black duct tape and stuck it on for kicks.


First impressions of the Dell Mini 10:

  • Oh, the default appearance settings for Windows XP are ugly. Let’s fix that ASAP.
  • This Dell Dock, a custom ObjectDock for organizing shortcuts, is cool.
  • The 1.33Ghz Atom Z520 processor feels sluggish (my Asus has the 1.60Ghz N270).
  • Bonus points for the sleek clamshell design.
  • It has the same ports, with the exception of the HDMI in place of VGA.

Other observations:

  1. The netbook has a smaller screen angle. My Asus can flatten out like a book.
  2. The ElanTech Smartpad is great. Shortcuts can be enabled for two and three finger taps, swipes, and pinches. The “cover gesture” is my favorite–plant your hand over the trackpad to minimize all open windows. The left and right bottom corners of the trackpad are clickable.
  3. The keyboard seems nearly full-size. But it’s not as snappy.
  4. The Dell Mini 10 is noticeably lighter and feels more compact.

—-
Unfortunately, I love my all-white ASUS because it has more battery life. So I am passing the Dell Mini 10 off to my little brother. I’m going to need to buy an HDMI to VGA adapter…hm.

