Oddly enough, IDC2009 coincided with my internet access being temporarily disabled at my apartment…which was followed by a crazed decision to continue attempting going about daily life without permanent network privileges for four weeks.

Having spent the majority of my high school and college life hard-wired to the instantaneity of the Internet, I have taken its ease and accessibility for granted. In short, the experience was excruciating.

icanhazinternet?

The worst part was not being able to check my inbox or compose emails at whim–I’d have to wait until the end of to workday to hit up a computer lab, coffee shop, or friends’ apartment with wireless access.

It changed my workflow entirely. I lost the ability to complete incoming tasks whenever I pleased. Instead, I had to let them collect and at some scheduled point in the day, I had to sit down and just pile-drive through them. Goodbye, procrastination. Perhaps this improved my productivity, but keeping a mental register of “things to do when I have Internet” was so taxing that it it made for an incredibly poor tradeoff.

At the height of my digital disconnect, I had misplaced my cellphone; I was a walking dead zone in my own home. It felt like I was in one of those Verizon commercials mixed in with the gloom & doom of a Stephen King thriller.

While I was offline, I had the opportunity to review many of the IDC presentations and reflect upon the necessity of technological progress within a society subject to increasing globalization and widespread mobile connectivity.

